Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen, Book 1 in the Red Queen series
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Publisher: Hachette
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance, High Fantasy
Links: Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon

Blurb:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

Why I picked it up:

I requested this one from Hachette and they were kind enough to send me a copy for review.

My thoughts:

I started reading Red Queen after I finished reading Snow Like Ashes. I had assumed (from the covers alone) that the two books would be similar, but in all reality, Red Queen was nothing like Snow Like Ashes. Red Queen sort of reminded me a little of X-Men meets The Selection series. I couldn’t decide if it was a fantasy or a science fiction.

A lot of people are raving about this book, but for me it didn’t feel original enough. It felt like a mash-up of X-Men, Divergent, The Hunger Games and The Selection, all combined into a story that felt a little too much like everything else I’ve read. It didn’t have a distinctive enough voice to set it apart form others in its genre. Which sucked, because I wanted to love this, but it just felt average to me.

It didn’t help that this isn’t a short book… at 400 pages it felt too long, especially when I never felt like I was rooting for the characters. I ended up skimming the last 50 or so pages.

All in all, this book has a lot of amazing reviews on GoodReads so I encourage you to check it out, particularly if you are new to the Dystopian genre. But if you are a seasoned fan, then this will blend into everything else.

My Verdict – 2 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I have seen you reading/reviewing a fair number of Two stars it seems lately …… I actually feel bad that you go through and read so many bad books…

    Time is precious….I say set the book aside by 60 pages or less that’s my magic number sometimes its the first chapter if its really horrendous…

    60 pages ….To me, means you “honored” them enough as a writer while at the same time not wasting your time…. I treat I movies I watch at home the same way…

    Why put yourself through that anymore…ugh…

    I would hate to be a book editor…

    I thank you for your due diligence though…it saves us time…so it is appreciated… 🙂

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      I find book reviewing really interesting, because I can read something and be like “meh” and other people will read it and be like OMG THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK EVER! So it really depends on personal taste.

      I generally have a 50 page rule. I’ll read 50 pages and if I’m not fussed then I’ll put it down, but when review copies of books are sent to be from publishers then I will take the time to read the entire novel.

      I enjoy reading average books, but it really makes me sit down and think about what it is that makes them so average. And then of course, when I stumble across an amazing book it makes it that much more exciting!

      Like

  2. Laurie says:

    Nice review 🙂

    Like

  3. I completely agree! I did a review of this a while back on my blog and I was really excited, but it was such a let down. It just seemed like Hunger Games with royalty to me. Nothing really exciting. I feel like they’re just commissioning these YA end-of-the-world books because they’re popular, but not because the author has something great to say and is passionate about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

