What is your favourite genre?

What is your favourite genre to read?

I used to read a bit of everything with no real preference to genre. But lately I’m loving contemporary novels. Young Adult Contemporary or New Adult Contemporary with a little bit of romance sprinkled over the top

*sighs happily*

Here are some of my latest contemporary favourites:


What is your favourite genre to read? Your go-to genre?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What is your favourite genre?

  1. Shari says:

    I really like victorian literature best but I will read fantasy or science fiction anything, old or new, as long as the science fiction isn’t too complicated. I also like true crime books. Whatever hits my fancy, I guess.

    Like

  2. Lynn says:

    I read a variety of things, but lately I’ve really been into memoirs. This is probably because I’ve written one and I am currently doing the developmental edit. But I have always liked memoirs; stranger-than-fiction true stories that read as easily as a novel. (I don’t like biographies and such.)

    If you’ve read any memoirs, I’d love to know which ones and what you liked or didn’t like about them. 🙂

    Like

  3. Dustin Frueh says:

    I’m not sure that I have a preferred genre or not, but two of my favorites are fantasy and Post-modernism.. George R.R. Martin and David Foster Wallace being my favorite author’s of those genre’s..:)

    Like

  4. Camilla says:

    My favorite genres are fantasy, science fiction, historic and mysteries (most age groups really). I also like non fiction (for instance history and linguistics).

    Like

  5. Crystal says:

    I’m open to reading a lot of genres, but generally, the genres I’ve found myself interested in are, action, drama, mystery, and historical fiction 🙂

    Like

  6. anowink says:

    My all-time favorite genre is urban fantasy. Anything that blends our world with magic is the top of my list. But lately I’ve been into contemporary fiction that deals with LGBTQ and mental health issues. Overall, I tend to read middle grade/YA stuff.

    Like

  7. Jack Collier says:

    I used to be a huge fan of science fiction, but then I realisied that the sf I was reading was all written in the 1950’s and the fiction had been overtaken by fact. Then I moved on to crime, and lo and behold, Raymond Chandler. Even older than the science fiction I had been reading. (ps I tried erotic fiction a la 50 shades ~ sadly I thought it was dire) I admire your blog. Jack

    Like

  8. Dallas Spires says:

    I have go-to authors mostly – Flannery O’Connor, Kafka, Faulkner. I like horror, Gothic, dark fantasy, and I absolutely love Victorian prose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

