What book has been on your shelf the longest?

This is a hard question for me, because I sold my entire bookcase of books back in 2011. Prior to that I had a really healthy collection, but decided to get rid of them all before I went to Europe and traveled for four months… so a lot of books I’d had for a long time were no longer in my possession.

bookshelf

That said, one of the books I did keep was the Harry Potter series 🙂 I don’t think I’d ever sell them. My copies are well-loved and yellowing with broken spines and dog eared pages, but I love them. They have a lot of character!

What book has been on your shelf the longest? Perhaps it was one you inherited from your parents, or bought yourself when you were young… Tell me about your well-loved books!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What book has been on your shelf the longest?

  1. Heather says:

    “A Wrinkle in Time.” Had this copy since I was 8 years old 🙂

    Like

  2. Although I have well over 5,000 books on my shelves, the answer to this one is very easy. It would be “Charlotte’s Web” which I read aloud to my mom when I was four.

    Like

  3. Shari says:

    anything by Henry James and Sylvia Plath’s journal which inspired me to write.

    Like

  4. csknotts says:

    The Hobbit. Oh, maybe Little Black Goes to the Circus:)

    Like

  5. Jon C says:

    I’d say Lee J Hindle’s ‘Dragon Fall’, which I’ve had since 1984. It was the first winner in Avon Flare’s YA novel competition, and the first book that made me realize I might want to try out this novel writing thing too. 🙂

    Like

  6. Kris says:

    The Secret Garden – was a 10th birthday gift has moved with me since then (I turn 40 this year!) =)

    Like

  7. anowink says:

    Probably my Bruce Coville collection: Jennifer Murdley’s Toad, Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher, and Into the Land of the Unicorns

    Like

  8. Camilla says:

    It’s hard to tell. I think I still have most of the old books I was given as a child, even as a baby, I love them all still. Some of them are older than I am (my mom seems to have bought books for me almost from the time I was born and some of them were published up to nearly ten years before I was born). I know I have books from the time I was 3 or 4 that I learned to read myself. The earlier ones were read to me by my mom and grandmother.

    Like

  9. Widdershins says:

    Many have come and gone via moving and purges but a fwe have stayed. The Riftwar Trilogy, by Raymond Feist, The Hobbit/LotR/The Mallorean, The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant by Stephen Donaldson.

    … just realised I didn’t even bother ‘authoring’ LotR! 🙂

    Like

  10. Erica Lynn says:

    I can’t be completely sure, but I think it’s my original copy of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. My dad got it from his grandmother and he passed it onto me when I was about 8 or 9.

    Like

  11. Laura says:

    I can’t even imagine selling my books. That being said I still have quite a few books from my childhood, but I think the book I’ve had the longest is a collection of Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen that my Aunt and Uncle gave me for my first Christmas.

    Like

  12. Amy says:

    This is hard to determine since I recently acquired some of my childhood books from my parents. I mean, very young childhood.
    But the ones I remember being around the most are the Chronicles of Narnia. I’ve never been without them and don’t intend to.

    Like

  13. I’m pretty sure it’s The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.

    Starting at age 4, I danced in an annual ballet based on The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. And I’m pretty sure I received the full set when I was 5 or 6 as a Christmas present from my grandmother, and that same set still sits on my shelf, making it about 20 years old!

    Like

  14. Sorry, it’s been a long time since I actually wrote, Jodie-courtesy of work as a teacher and other ‘jobs’ too. There is a common theme-in that what from via books that our early selves and others showed us. I’ve a kids’ novel Mr Leakey-with a Sunday School sticker in it I still have. However, one stunning book I urge your readers to read-and it’s very short is the lyrical ‘Highland River’ by Neil Gunn. His prose is musical and is shot through with Gaelic rhythms yet is in English. A look at Scotland’s heart.

    Like

  15. J guenther says:

    I suspect it’s the 1929 edition of Encyclopedia Britannica. I have older books, but they were acquired well after the print date. The oldest of my own books, not inherited, may be the copy of Winnie the Pooh, inscribed with my name and “Christmas 1944” in my father’s handwriting. I remember my mother reading to us out of that book.

    Like

  16. Rose says:

    Well, my Baby-Sitters Club and Nancy Drew books are hidden in boxes somewhere in my garage. But yes, the ones that have been on display the longest are those of the Harry Potter series.

    I’m so glad you didn’t get rid of those! My heart began to ache as soon as I read that you’d sold nearly all your books. I’d be lost without my collection (most of which I haven’t read yet…). I’m not a fan of ebooks, but I was desperate for something to read while I was away about a month ago and wound up downloading The Picture of Dorain Gray on my iPod.

    Like

  17. Crystal says:

    Like you, I got rid of a lot of my books, however, my mother kept some childhood ones, so I still have a few of the Berenstain Bear Series books.

    Like

  18. Cass says:

    Probably Dinotopia, which I’ve had since I was six or seven. I was crazy for dinosaurs as a kid, so we snapped that up as soon as it came out, and it’s had a place of honor on my shelves ever since.

    Like

Leave a Reply

