Blog Tour: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass

Today I’m very lucky to have Sarah J Maas featured on my blog. Thanks to Bloomsbury for organising the tour and to Sarah for answering my questions.

I am writing this post from my iPhone whilst overseas traveling, so I hope it looks okay! I will beautify it a little more when I get home!

  

Blog Tour: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas


1. Your books are always filled with such beautiful characters and settings, where do your ideas come from?

Blood sacrifices to demons.

Kidding. Sort of.

I have no idea where my ideas come from, but I do know most of them hit me when I’m listening to music. Music inspired both Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses—both of them were literally the product of a few minutes of music. For TOG, it was some music from the Cinderella soundtrack. And for ACOTAR, I was listening to a piece from the Princess Mononoke soundtrack when I suddenly saw the opening scene of the book and heard Feyre’s voice narrating it to me.

I’m also inspired by my own travel/adventures (…alas, no hot Fae men, though), by the TV/films I watch, and by art—usually stuff I stumble across on Pinterest. Which is my addiction and downfall.

2. What is your favourite book that you have written to date?

Oh, boy. That’s a tough one. I love all my books for different reasons. Heir of Fire might be the book I poured the most of myself into and will always hold a special place in my heart, Queen of Shadows was the most fun I ever had while writing (and perhaps tied with HOF for tears shed while drafting), and A Court of Thorns and Roses is a culmination of so many fairytales and things that I love… My favourite book legit changes depending on my mood.

3. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Plenty of people are going to tell you that you can’t do it. That what you write isn’t good enough, or the “right” thing to be writing. Don’t listen to them. You do what you love, write what you love, and screw the rest. The only person who can ever get you to stop writing is you.

4. What are your three favourite novels?

This is the worst and most unfair question of all time.

I’d have trouble picking my favourite thirty novels, but… I’ll list my favourite three authors (which is kinda cheating, but whatevs):

Sharon Shinn, Megan Whalen Turner, Anne Bishop………

And I can’t resist naming more, so I’ll just make this Top Favourite Authors List now: Melina Marchetta, Karen Marie Moning, Nalini Singh, J. R. Ward, Gena Showalter, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Susan Dennard, Christina Lauren, Alex Bracken, Patricia A. McKillip, Thea Harrison, Diana Gabaldon, James Clemens, Garth Nix, and J. K. Rowling.

*takes a breath*

5. What are you working on at the moment?

I’m just finishing up my final read-through of Queen of Shadows (the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, out September 1st worldwide), and editing the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses (out Spring 2016).

….And I’m drafting the (untitled) fifth TOG book, too.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Blog Tour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog Tour: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass

  1. I very nearly bought A Court of Thorns and Roses during my last visit to the bookstore, but didn’t in order to save money. I kind of wish I had now, I seem to be moving towards these kinds of books.

    Like

  2. Great interview! I love Sarah J. Maas. I love that Melina Marchetta is one of her favourite authors, Go Aussies! I can’t wait for Queen of Shadows and the second book in the Court of Thorns and Roses series.

    Like

  3. Crystal says:

    Very true what Sarah said in question 3. The only one who can stop us is ourselves 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas is coming! | Words Read & Written

Leave a Reply

