How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

Before I started blogging, I used to read books that were highly rated on GoodReads. I’d pick up the books that everyone was raving about, that were up the top of Listopia lists, and in the top 10 new releases for the month or the year.

Since starting this blog however, that has sort of gone out the window. Mainly because I receive review copies from publishers before they are released, so suddenly I’m reading books where I have no clue whether they are going to be good or not. Instead of reading books I know are quality, I’m the one deciding whether they are or not for others.

Sometimes it’s rewarding and sometimes it’s like wading through a lot of average stuff. But I like it, because it forces me out of my comfort zone.

How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

read out of comfort zone

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

  1. debb lavoie says:

    All the time now that I review and blog.

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      It is an amazing way to be thrown out of your comfort zone! I’ve read so many books that I never would have even picked up – with some great surprises along the way.

      Like

    • I admire your tenacity because I don’t think that I would be up to the task of reviewing something that wasn’t of appeal to me. You are good. 🙂

      Like

      • Jodie says:

        Well thank you 🙂
        I really enjoy it. I love reading and I feel like blogging allows me to share my passion with fellow readers.

        Like

  2. Since I narrate, I’ve often recorded books outside the genres that are my personal preference. It’s definitely introduced me to more indie authors.

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      It’s amazing how so often as readers we don’t give lesser known authors a go. Especially indie authors.

      Like

      • Liz Ellyn says:

        I realized that I had been sticking to my favorite authors and hardly venturing out of my comfort zone. I only set one reading goal for the year and that was to read at least 50 new authors. I’m half-way to my goal. It’s really great to find a new author that I love.

        Like

      • Jodie says:

        That’s a great idea!
        I recommend THE PROTECTED by Claire Zorn. That was a great find for me.

        Like

  3. athling2001 says:

    When people start raving about a book and telling me to read it, that’s when I get stubborn and don’t read it:)

    Like

  4. Donna says:

    I’m in two book clubs, and a big reason for that is to force myself out of my reading comfort zone. Sometimes I find treasures. Sometimes it’s a total fail.

    Like

  5. Shell says:

    I love to read and will read almost anything. If something is out of my comfort zone it’s usually because too violent like rape scenes or gore. I have an extremely vivid imagination and can actually visualize what I’m reading about. It’s beyond my comfort zone to experience abuse or too much gore.

    Like

  6. Nicola says:

    One of my reading goals for this year was to read more books outside my comfort zone, as I read predominantly YA SF/F. I’ve had varying success at that so far, though, because I keep coming across more and more books in my favourite genres that look really good. I’m trying, though; I feel like I’m limiting myself by not reading more widely.

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      I remember feeling like this a while ago. I was reading so much YA and suddenly I picked up a memoir and LOVED IT. Reading widely is important, I think.

      Like

  7. Brix says:

    I started to comment that I don’t have a reading comfort zone. Then I realized, I don’t really read Sci Fi or Fantasy or Romance. I guess I’d have to say those are out of my comfort zone. I do read some of them anyway. BTW, I don’t comment often, but want to tell you how much I enjoy your blog. Keep writing!

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      Thanks so much! I’ve been blogging for a little while but I really want to take this site to the next level… I’m still unsure how to go about that, but it’s still exciting!

      Like

  8. susie hawes says:

    I try to read out of my comfort zone all the time, and look for indie writers when I can. I’m an indie writer, and I think people should read my work, so I think I should do the same for other writers. I’ve found some real gems this way.

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      It’s amazing how hard it is to really take a leap of faith sometimes. It’s so easy to pick up the books that so many others have loved 🙂 But I agree, supporting indie authors is very important.

      Like

  9. Faye M. says:

    Oooh, I can definitely relate to this. When I first started, I only read the mainstream books, too. I would scout GR for books that were rated higher than 4, and most of the time, I ended up reaaally hating them. Since then, I’ve branched out to other genres and even demographics, and I realized that those that were underrated, I ended up loving more than the overly hyped ones. It’s fun to experiment! I’m glad that my preferences have grown 🙂

    Like

  10. Lydia Holmes says:

    I’ve started reading out of my comfort zone a lot more, and it’s been fantastic so far.

    I’ve been trying to read more diversely – I want to read more books by people of colour, LGBTIQA+ people, and read more feminist texts. I’ve found some really great books so far and it’s really rewarding to read a wider variety of books.

    It takes a little getting used to and some of the books are more hit and miss, but. Glad to hear it’s working out well for you so far! c:

    Like

  11. Nik says:

    I think stepping out of your comfort zone in any aspect of life can only be a good thing. I’ve found that since getting involved in shared editing duties for a short story site I spend most of time reading things that aren’t necessarily in my comfort zone and it’s a good exercise to try and be objective. Over the years influences from friends have led me to reading a wider variety of styles and genres – and I think the eclectic nature of my reading has also helped and influenced my own writing. Interesting question you posed!

    Thanks for dropping past my blog recently and handing out a like – much appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

