How do you organise your books?

My main bookshelf looks a little like this:

The way it is organised is the top shelf are all my favourite 5-star reads, the second shelf are my 4-star reads, the third shelf are some of my TBR pile (I have more of these on a second bookshelf) and the fourth shelf are my meh-reads.

How do you organise your books? By author? By rating? By cover?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to How do you organise your books?

  1. I should be embarrassed to admit that, as a former librarian, I don’t really have a system. I do keep books that are in a series together but I’m terrible about having to look on every bookshelf in my house (I have quite a few — I’m a hoarder) when I loan out a book to a friend. Maybe it’s my way of rebelling against all those years of being around organized books. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    That’s a cool way to organize! I’ve never thought to do it like that.
    I’m a bit more nutsy with my book organization. They’re all separated into genre (middle grade, YA, adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference, etc) and then alphabetized by author. It helps since my bookcase is overflowing. This way I can find things easier.

    Like

  3. Paul J Gies says:

    In a set of interconnected piles, with current reading on top. Goddess only knows what’s at the bottom.

    Like

  4. Shari says:

    ha ha ha ha ha. My organization consists of this: Books I really, really want to read right next to my bed piled on top of my vanity. Books I really want to read in the bookcase next to the bed. Books I’ve read in piles, boxes, bags upstairs on our third floor storage rooms. I will say that all my Henry James books are together, and Sylvia Plath’s journal is always in the bookcase next to my bed reminding me to keep writing.

    Like

    • Lynn Cahoon says:

      Ha, Sheri’s system sounds more like mine than Jodie’s. I have 4 book shelves, three shelves on the wall, and piles on my floor.

      Like

  5. All of my Toni Morrison books are in order. The rest of my bookshelves are just a mess. I tried to do by author, but now that I’ve run out of room on my three shelves, it’s kind of all over the place.

    Like

  6. athling2001 says:

    By author but in no particular order.

    Like

  7. Laurie Keim says:

    I have a number of book shelves but the four I have in my study remind me of my intellectual past. I arrange them according to subject and like to place beside each other certain antagonists Nietzsche beside Bertrand Russell for example. While writing I often glance at them and feel again that period of my life, nearly always pleasantly.
    Cheers

    Like

  8. Joseph Bird says:

    I’m with you, Jodie. Favorites on the top shelf, almost favorites on the second shelf. “Also read” is the third shelf. Interesting to look at the books that made it to the top shelf, and some bestsellers dwelling on my third shelf.

    joe

    Like

  9. Widdershins says:

    Wherever I can squeeeeeze ’em in! πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. jay says:

    there are only 2 classifications for me. the first is READ books. These books I file base on size. hardcovers in one pile, soft covers in another pile. the second is UNREAD books in one pile. I have a separate pile for the magazines.

    Like

  11. Nicola says:

    Books I’ve read are alphabetised by author’s name and title/series, with YA and genre fiction on one bookcase and the stuff I read at uni on another (where it’s divided into poetry, drama and prose before alphabetising).

    My TBR is not alphabetised, but loosely organised based on genre and enthusiasm.

    Like

  12. Ken Dowell says:

    I keep a TBR shelf front and center. Aside from that my bookshelves are complete chaos.

    Like

  13. Jess says:

    Embarrassingly, I only just started putting books of the same genre together in my bookshelves. I say it’s embarrassing because I’m a librarian. Ah, well. So Norwegian authors are together, true crime, classics, fluff, and then series. On the bottom shelf of my bookcase are the coffee table books (that aren’t on the coffee table πŸ˜‰ that won’t fit on the other shelves, and they are by region: far east, Europe, Canada, and, my new favorite genre: pop-up!

    Like

  14. julie says:

    I have so many books to read and I’ve had some of them for so long that I have organized them by copyright date. Then I rotate through them…picking a book to read from, say, 2010 and then the next one from 2011 and so on, round and round. πŸ™‚ This way, I’m mixing the older books in with the newer things I’m excited about.

    Like

  15. Kate says:

    Mine is by author. It’s the only way to organize them for me. Otherwise my room would become a mess with books.

    Like

  16. Emily Witt says:

    I have the tallest on the left, and shortest on the right, except if it’s a series or in some cases the same author, I keep all those together. There isn’t really a system from shelf to shelf, I just fill one shelf then go to the next. I’m also not a re-reader, so I often donate books once I’ve read them, so I only really have one bookcase in constant flux.

    Like

  17. Ohhh, what a pretty bookshelf you have! It’s so neatly organized. For being a really organized person, I’m actually pretty sloppy with my book organization. There’s the favorites shelf and the TBR shelf, and then everything else is just jammed in wherever it can fit…because I don’t really have enough room!

    Like

  18. dotcamomblog says:

    What? You have no “like” button?

    But thanks for visiting my blog πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. As an avid reader, I feel as though I should be embarrassed. I think that I still have a few actual books. That is right. I have made the daunting task of going almost completely digital with my collection. I have purchased maybe 2 paper books in the last 5 years. *Gasp, Horror, GAH* Say what you will. I have relocated multiple times, I have a toddler, books take up precious space. They are all nicely condensed in alphabetical order, neatly placed in a file on my desktop.

    Like

  20. Katie says:

    I make piled of books by rough genre and then by the amount that I love them. The closer they are to perfect for me, the higher up they go to the increasingly smaller shelves of my against the wall bookcase.

    Like

  21. Ian Cai Mercer says:

    Wish I were that organised! Thanks for liking Infinite Whoniverses!!

    Like

  22. opher says:

    Alphabetical on first name! It’s the only way I can find them.
    Best wishes
    Opher – Opher’s World

    Like

  23. Shauna says:

    Half of my books are still at my parent’s place because my apartment doesn’t have a ton of room. I ended up choosing to leave all of the books I’ve read and loved there for now, with the eventual hope of bringing them here once I clear out some of the books I have yet to read (the thought is that once I read them I’ll be able to send at least some of them on their way, making room for me to bring my favourites here).

    The ones that are here aren’t really formally organized. The biggest organization thing going on is size: hard covers and trade paperbacks, being bigger, only fit on a couple of shelves (unless I lay them on their sides), so they go there in no particular order. All the paperbacks fill in the other shelves. They’re grouped together by author or series (in the case of certain books, like my Starcraft and Halo ones, which are written by different authors). I tried to put books that looked good together on the same shelves, but I’m not really sure if I succeeded in that.

    While it could be a bit tough trying to find things, I seem to have a pretty good idea of where everything is.

    Like

    • opher says:

      The size of books is a problem. There’s no easy solution. I tend to have a group of oversize books lying sideways on the shelf and group them alphabetically.
      But the most important thing is to have books – and lots of them! They are the life-blood of the intellect and heart!
      Cheers
      Opher

      Like

  24. Wish you could organize mine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

