Book Review: Lick by Kylie Scott

Title: Lick, Book 1 in the Stage Dive series
Author: Kylie Scott
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Links: GoodReads | Book Depository

  

Blurb:

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

Why I picked it up:

I bought this book when I attended Readers & Writers Down Under. I met Kylie and she signed the novel for me, so I figured I’d better give it a read when the rest of the series started appearing in my mailbox thanks to Pan Macmillan.

O U R   E S C A P E

My Thoughts:

Lick started well. The first chapter definitely got my attention, despite the premise being a tad unoriginal. Waking up married to a stranger? It’s nothing that hasn’t been done before.

I loved the first half, but the middle dragged a bit. I didn’t love the sex scenes, I found them a tad flat. They definitely didn’t have me on the edge of my seat. I think Kylie Scott might be better at building a romance than actually executing it, because the second Evelyn and David got it together, my attention slipped.

All in all, this was enjoyable and I’ll continue on to the next in the series!

My Verdict – 3 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: Lick by Kylie Scott

  1. This is a good example of an objective review of a book. Everything I needed to know was immediately available. Although the assessment was favorable (three stars), I was given all that I needed to know I order to look elsewhere for my next read. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Liz Ellyn says:

    Just curious – if you only gave the book 3 stars why would you continue with the series?

    Like

Leave a Reply

