Author Interview: Brittney Mulliner

Title: Begin Again
Author: Brittney Mulliner
Publisher: Indie, Self Published
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Links: GoodReads | Book Depository | Amazon | Author Website

  

Blurb:

Escaping her past, Aubrey Tate moves to Southern California for a fresh start with her older brother, Brandon. Starting over at a new school seems easy with her cousin, Mckayla, and her two best friends at her side, but handling the new guys is another matter. Aubrey ends up in the middle of three rivals that each wants her to themselves. Mike claims her first and declares himself her friend and protector. Luke is the school heartthrob that stops Aubrey in her tracks, speechless. Gage is the mysterious, dark outsider that Aubrey can be herself around.

How will she navigate her new life while she’s still haunted by her past?

Interview: (Thanks to Brittney for answering my questions!)

1. How did you come up with the ideas for Begin Again?
I actually had a dream about it. Several of the characters were in it and I was being followed the whole time by someone I could only catch glimpses of. When I woke up I remembered it, which NEVER happens, so wrote it down. I spent the next few days making changes and adding details and suddenly the story was there in my mind and it didn’t go away until I started writing.

2. Describe your writing process? Are you a planner or do you write by the seam of your pants?
I really wish I was a planner, but I’ve learned that the characters have minds of their own and ultimately decide how things are going to happen. I always thought writers were a little bit crazy (and we totally are) when they said that they hear voices or the characters write the story but it’s true. I have a general idea of what’s going to happen, but when I try to force things to go the way I plan writing gets tougher. If I let the story unfold as I write it comes out much smoother.

3. What makes you happy?
Puppies, the beach, and my husband. Not necessarily in that order.

4. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
Love what you’re doing! If it becomes a chore you need to step back and think about what you’re doing and what you’re trying to accomplish. Maybe the story needs to be tweaked or maybe you’re in it for the wrong reasons. If you’re looking for fame or fortune I would suggest another path. Writing is extremely fulfilling if you’re doing it for the love of it and because you have stories inside you that need to be told.

5. What are your writing goals?
I’m planning on publishing three titles a year. That’s short-term and will hopefully lead to my long-term goal of being in a position to write fulltime.

6. When are aren’t writing, what do you get up to?
My husband and I are both active and like to exercise everyday so with that and my big girl fulltime job I stay pretty busy with just enough time at night to write.

7. What are your favourite books?
I’ve been reading all of Ginger Scott’s books lately and I’m a fangirl of C L Stone’s two series. I’m also looking forward to Rachel Van Dyken’s new release, Elude.

8. What is the most important thing you’ve learnt in your writing journey?
Don’t get hung up on criticism. I’ve had so many reviews and comments that completely contradict the exact same thing that I just brush it off now. One person told me they loved how true to life the teenagers were in my books then another person said they acted too “high schooly”. Reviews can be helpful and harmful so I’ve learned not to take anything too personally.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview: Brittney Mulliner

  1. Enjoyed reading this interview!

    Like

Leave a Reply

