Book Review: A Small Madness by Dianne Touchell

Title: A Small Madness
Author: Dianne Touchell
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Issue: Teen Pregnancy
Links: GoodReads | Book Depository

Blurb:

Rose didn’t tell anyone about it. She wondered if it showed. She looked at herself in the mirror and turned this way and then that way. She stood as close to the mirror as she could, leaning over the bathroom basin, looking into her own eyes until they disappeared behind the fog of her breath. Looking for something. Some evidence that she was different now. Something had shifted inside her, a gear being ratcheted over a clunky cog, gaining torque, starting her up. But it didn’t show. How could all of these feelings not show? She was a woman now but it didn’t show and she couldn’t tell anyone.

Why I picked it up:

This book was sent to me from Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:

I’ve never read a book about teenage pregnancy before. In fact, pregnancy in a young adult novel generally kills the story for me. But A Small Madness was very openly about teen pregnancy, so I decided to jump on board.

In a nutshell, this book is about the fallout of a teenage pregnancy. The isolation, the uncertainty, the fear, the denial… It was a dark and gritty novel and I loved that it didn’t try to ‘romanticise’ the drama.

In its essence, this was a very powerful and terrifying novel. In saying that, I don’t really know how to rate it. I found it unique and interesting, but I’d never read it again. It isn’t really the sort of novel you’d read twice.

My Verdict – 3 stars – Definitely worth a read, if anything because it is so unique in the YA genre.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: A Small Madness by Dianne Touchell

  1. Good review. Makes one interested in reading the book.

    Like

  2. Dustin Frueh says:

    Truly enlightening review. Jodie! Thank you for pointing out the uniqueness of this book. I don’t usually go for this sort of thing, for the reasons you stated. Well one, really: teen pregnancy tends to be romanticized, and this just isn’t accurate. It kind of pisses me off. I think I’ll be checking it out at GR!:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

