Recommend me… a fantasy novel

Welcome to a new little facet of my blog. Every now and then I’m going to post a “Recommend me…” blog post. It will be a way for all of us to share our favourite novels with each other and also to find some new reading material.

The series kicked off with “Recommend Me”… a book that made you laugh.

This time… Recommend Me… a fantasy novel!

My contribution:

Gravelling by Kristin Cashore | Book Depository

I have to admit… I’m not a huge fan of fantasy novels. I much prefer to read a contemporary romance or a science fiction book. But I really adored Gravelling. I read it back in 2011 and it still sticks out in my mind. It was a 4 star read for me.

What is your favourite fantasy novel? Recommend me! Share all your favourites and hopefully we will all find some new favourites in the mix!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendations, Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Recommend me… a fantasy novel

  1. wendy waters says:

    I’m not a massive fan of Fantasy either but one book still stays in my mind after many years. It was called And Still She Wished For Company by Margaret Irwin. Riveting as I recall.

    Like

  2. Nicola says:

    There’s a lot of fantasy I could recommend, as it’s my go-to genre, but I just read The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater and I can’t get it out of my head. It’s an urban fantasy that draws on Celtic mythology, and it’s more contemporary than I usually go for; by that I mean that, although the core story is about the characters’ search for the mythical Welsh king Glendower, there’s also a fair bit about their problems with family and school.

    Like

  3. jguenther5 says:

    I particularly like Keith Roberts’ action-verb rich style. His collection of short stories, Pavane, is an alternate history work, with strong fantasy elements.

    Like

  4. I thought Daughter of Smoke and Bone (and the other two books in the series) were great fantasy books – I recommend them to anyone looking for something in the fantasy genre that is interesting and well-written.

    Like

  5. I wrote a post a while back about fantasy novels that I really love and so I’ll just like that post, if you don’t mind:

    https://mishaburnett.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/i-dont-really-hate-fantasy/

    Like

  6. Camilla says:

    Since you don’t really like fantasy normally, it might be difficult to recommend something you’d like, but maybe these two series: Feyland by Anthea Sharp and The Glass Wall by Madison Adler/Carmen Caine. They’re contemporary and fantasy. I found them on Wattpad, but they’re available as ‘ordinary’ books as well.

    Like

  7. Theresa Hupp says:

    Here’s an option from another non-fan of fantasy: C.M. Lance’s Battle Wizard Saga series (there are three of them). I like how he mixes Norse mythology and the typical dragon stuff with really good (and funny) relationships. Both his family relationships and warrior relationships are strong. They are good books for young and old alike.
    Theresa

    Like

  8. It’s an older book, but well worth the effort. A Night in the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny. Historical fantasy, but light on the history. Lots of classic Victorian figures make an appearance. It wasn’t marketed as YA, but it’s certainly short enough to be one.

    Like

  9. Len Berry says:

    I’m a big fan of Brandon Sanderson’s works. Warbreaker is an excellent stand-alone novel. My favorite character from any book is Shallan Davar, one of the main POVs in The Stormlight Archive.

    There hasn’t been as much love for Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay lately, so I’m giving that a shout out as well.

    Like

  10. Dustin Frueh says:

    This has probably been said, and it’s possibly cliche now, but I recommend the first book of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, A Game of Thrones. And though the next isn’t strictly fantasy, parts of it certainly qualify, Stephen King’s The Gunslinger. My Top Two favorite fantasies of all-time.

    Like

  11. Sarah Clare says:

    When it comes to fantasy, it has to be Maria Snyder for me. She’s so good! The Study series in particular. I’ve also recently become a mega of Marie Rutkoski too.

    I love Graceling, definitely a great book.

    Like

  12. Junk Chuck says:

    I rarely read fantasy, but I’ve made space on my shelves for Lois McMaster Bujold’s The Spirit Ring and its sequel, the name of which eludes me. Fantastic books by one of the great voices in contemporary SF. A long time ago I read Elizabeth Moon’s The Deed of Paksenarion, which was originally published as three separate books but is now available as an omnibus–it’s a traditional coming of age/swords and sorcery thing–both are worth the time.

    Like

  13. Crystal says:

    Great idea! I don’t have any good fantasy novels to suggest at this time, but I’m sure I’ll be able to contribute in the future 🙂

    Like

  14. Drew says:

    Have you tried ‘Broken’ by Kelly Armstrong?

    Like

  15. Caitlin says:

    I have an unhealthy obsession with fantasy novels and my favorites are Patrick Rothfuss’s The Name of the Wind (I propose it’s better than Game of Thrones) and Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel’s Legacy Series (fair warning, quite a bit of adult content). I’ve reread both authors books too many times to count.

    Like

  16. Khaelath says:

    I don’t read much fantasy anymore -mostly Science Fiction these days- however I do recommend Eric by Terry Pratchett. as well as being one of the few fantasy novels I’ve read in a long while it is also one of the funniest books I’ve read.

    Like

  17. Laine Keeney says:

    The Belgariad, a five-book series by David Eddings. It’s an old series, but one of the best. Very character driven, and it has a little bit of everything–fantasy, adventure, coming of age, romance, humor.

    Like

  18. While I am a little late, it is low fantasy, without dragons or magic that might put off some readers, and it is set in China with all the complexities of the that time. I’m talking, the Forbidden City with a thousand concubines craziness.

    Guy Gavriel Kay’s Under Heaven.

    Like

  19. Pangs says:

    I recently finished Lev Grossman’s “The Magicians” trilogy. I’m not a huge fantasy reader, but these books got a lot of good reviews. Decent pace. Not quite the standard fantasy story. Worth a look.

    Like

  20. I hope that superheroes, and superheroines, fall under the category of fantasy. I have read the first two books in the Dynamistress series: Reckoning (The Many Deaths of Dynamistress Book 1), and Redemption (The Many Deaths of Dynamistress Book 2), by Vincent M. Wales. This is superheroine story told like a memoir. Dynamiters is flawed, and has a very bumpy life. There are the usual super fight scenes which are great. But her relationships, those ups and downs, really drew me in. I look forward to book three. A lot. But I bet poor Dynamistress is going to have a hard time. As opposed to the good time I have had and will have reading her story.

    Like

  21. I would like to recommend “Dream Snake” by Vonda McIntyre. It was written in 1978 as a compilation of three stories for which she won a Nebula Award I believe. It is the first science fiction book I bought myself and one of only two books that I have managed to keep from that period of my life. I still read it from time to time. I absolutely love the strong but compassionate character. I aspired to be her. 😀

    Like

  22. Mei says:

    I LOVE fantasy novels, they’re my favourite! Hmm…I think I would recommend “Temeraire” by Naomi Novik as well as the rest of the series. It’s a book about dragons, international relations and history (everything that I like) in a well-written series that is still ongoing.

    Like

  23. Pingback: Recommend me… Your favourite recent read |

Leave a Reply

