Book Review: Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines

Title: Fallen too Far, Book 1 in the Rosemary Beach series
Author: Abbi Glines
Publisher: Simon Schuster (Atria)
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Links: GoodReads | Book Depository

Blurb:

Blaire Wynn left her small farmhouse in Alabama, after her mother passed away, to move in with her father and his new wife in their sprawling beach house along the Florida gulf coast. She isn’t prepared for the lifestyle change and she knows she’ll never fit into this world. Then there is her sexy stepbrother who her father leaves her with for the summer while he runs off to Paris with his wife. Rush is as spoiled as he is gorgeous. He is also getting under her skin. She knows he is anything but good for her and that he’ll never be faithful to anyone. He is jaded and has secrets Blaire knows she may never uncover but even knowing all of that…

Why I picked it up:

I bought this book at Readers and Writers Downunder when I met Abbi and got my book signed.

My Thoughts:

Abbi Glines has published a stack of books, but this is the first one I’ve ever read. On GoodReads, Fallen Too Far is her most popular novel with over 100,000 ratings averaging out at over 4 stars, so I figured it would be a good place to start.

The main thing that struck me about this book is its length. Its 220 pages, which is pretty short as far as NA novels go. As such, I felt a lot of the romance was a tad abrupt. I would have liked a little bit longer to warm to Rush and the idea of how Blair felt about him before that all sped forward. Because at first, I didn’t get why she liked him. He had no redeeming qualities aside from being hot. In all reality he was a controlling, man-whore.

It took me about half the book to warm to him. But once I did… oh my god, this book sucked me in like crazy!

I didn’t like all the unsafe sex, and the twist was ridiculously confusing, but overall this was a nice read. I read it in one stint. I guess the reason I’m rating this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I don’t feel an intense desire to pick up the next book. Maybe I’ll get around to it some day.

My Verdict – 4 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines

Leave a Reply

