Recommend Me… a science fiction novel

Welcome to a new little facet of my blog. Every now and then I’m going to post a “Recommend me…” blog post. It will be a way for all of us to share our favourite novels with each other and also to find some new reading material.

The series has kicked off with “Recommend Me”… a book that made you laugh and then “Recommend Me”… a fantasy novel.

This time… Recommend Me… a science-fiction novel!

My contribution:

The Program by Suzanne Young | Book Depository

I read this book back in the beginning of 2014, and at the time, it was the best book I’d read in ages! It took about 80 pages to really get started, but by page 200 I was giggling like a little girl and having mini excitement fits. It was disturbed and a bit messed up, but I loved it.

What is your favourite science-fiction novel? Recommend me! Share all your favourites and hopefully we will all find some new favourites in the mix!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Recommend Me… a science fiction novel

  1. The Sparrow by Mary Dora Russell (Ballantine and Audiobooks
    Sci-fi is not my greatest interest BUT The Sparrow is a great book by one my favorite authors. I think Russell’s novels are better than Melville and Michener. She has very interesting characters. If you read The Sparrow and don’t like it, write me. ccr

    Like

  2. Camilla says:

    Until recently, I didn’t read much science fiction (other than ‘the classics’ that I inherited from my dad – I can especially mention Search the Sky by Frederick Pohl and C. M. Kornbluth), but last year or so, I discovered a few titles that I really liked. First Connie Willis’ time travel sf, To Say Nothing of the Dog. Then a few newer books – The Night Also Rises by C B McCullough, Fatal Boarding and Deep Crossing by E. R. Mason, The Backworlds by M Pax and finally Housewife with a Half-Life by A B Wells.

    Like

  3. Paul J Gies says:

    “The Void Captain’s Tale” by Norman Spinrad. Not joking.

    Like

  4. Ethan S. says:

    This year, my English teacher wrote a book called AGENT DARCY AND NINJA STEVE IN…TIGER TROUBLE! It is one of the best books I read this year!

    It is about a 13 year old girl who is training to be a secret agent AND a 12-year-old boy who lives in a ninja village. It has cool technology, a robot, and exciting fight scenes! I even got my little brother to read the whole thing, and he doesn’t like to read anything.

    http://www.amazon.com/Agent-Darcy-Ninja-Steve-Trouble/dp/1508747164/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1437921787&sr=8-1&keywords=grant+goodman

    Like

  5. Besides the classics from Bradbury and Orwell, which are amazing, there are lots of other great sci-fi classics. My dad recommended, A Canticle for Leibowitz, by Walter Miller. The blurb from Wikipedia, “A Canticle for Leibowitz is a post-apocalyptic science fiction novel by American writer Walter M. Miller, Jr., first published in 1960. Set in a Catholic monastery in the desert of the Southwestern United States after a devastating nuclear war, the story spans thousands of years as civilization rebuilds itself. The monks of the fictional Albertian Order of Leibowitz take up the mission of preserving the surviving remnants of man’s scientific knowledge until the day the outside world is again ready for it.” It’s another sci-fi classic. I’ve been meaning to read it, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. So many books and so little time XD

    Like

  6. athling2001 says:

    Hummm…. My first thought would be a little known book ‘Star Web’, by Joan Cox. Published in 1980 by Avon Books. If you can find it, I’d highly recommend reading. It’s one of those books I can read over and over just to enjoy a great story and the flow of the author’s words.

    Jade was a linker, one of that special breed of pilots who guide starships through the treacherous lanes of the Star Web via mind-control. It was a fitting profession for a carefree drifter. He had and wanted few friends. Heglit, his mind-link partner, and Borget and Lista, the sensual, golden-skinned Benjos who could pleasure a man to death.

    He had no ambition greater than the next cargo run, no desire deeper than the next hallucinogenic joyhouse.

    Then came the mysterious mission when the ship’s crew all dies or went mad…. twenty-three hours inexplicably vanished… and the most powerful man in the Star Web began chasing Jade from world to world.

    Fate was drawing him on an adventure linked to a planet’s future, a fallen aristocracy, and his own incredible past.
    Book Blurb-

    Like

  7. Len Berry says:

    I read a book a few years ago called MAD SKILLS by Walter Greatshell. It was a wild read, and a lot of fun. It’s got conspiracies, heightened intelligence and reflexes, and plenty of twists and turns.

    I recommend it because it’s a book that I love and very few people have even heard of it.

    Like

  8. Well, not a novel, but my favorite sci-fi book is The Collected Stories of Arthur C Clarke: http://www.amazon.com/The-Collected-Stories-Arthur-Clarke/dp/0312878605 Nearly 1000 pages of Clarke’s science fiction short stories. I got it back when I was in high school and I absolutely love it. I really think he, more than anyone else, influenced how I write and what sort of fiction I like best.

    Like

  9. Anaya says:

    I love reading sci-fi but don’t have a favourite unfortunately but The Program looks good. Great post!

    Like

  10. Amanda says:

    The first book that sprang to mind is Valor’s Choice by Tanya Huff. So funny and the main character, Staff Sergeant Torin Kerr is one of my all-time favorites. I can’t decide if I want to be her or marry her.

    Like

  11. Laura says:

    I am new to reading science fiction but the one that got me into it is Elantris by Brandon Sanderson. I read it twice within 3 months =)

    Like

  12. opher says:

    I find Iain Banks the best Sci-fi writer. He is incredibly imaginative a readable. Then there’s Kurt Vonnegut – Cat’s Cradle – that is such a light read, so funny and yet so serious. I love it.

    Like

  13. Mei says:

    Science fiction isn’t exactly my favourite because I’m not really into aliens invading or robots going crazy. BUT I have tried one series recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m not sure if it’s cliché though. It’s “Ender’s Game” and the entire Ender series by Orson Scott Card. I didn’t get into the book because of the movie, just to put it out there. I enjoyed the seires because I like the plot of each book and I find that Card has a mastery over character development so readers will truly feel a connection to the characters (even if they’re not the main characters). I’m still not finished with the series (it’s pretty long and complicated) but I do like what I’ve read so far(:

    Like

  14. Pingback: Recommend me… Your favourite recent read |

Leave a Reply

