Author Interview: Kellie Arrowsmith

Today I have Kellie Arrowsmith on Words Read & Written. Thanks to Hachette for setting up the interview and to Kellie for answering my questions.

Skimpy by Kellie Arrowsmith ($29.99), published by Hachette Australia.

Title: Skimpy
Author: Kellie Arrowsmith
Publisher: Hachette
Genre: Memoir
Links: Book Depository

Interview:

1. Tell us a little about Skimpy, why did you decide to write this book?
Skimpy is about my decision to pack up my life on the Gold Coast and head into the NT scrub and all of the crazy adventures I had along the way. I first started a blog, http://www.kelsgonebush.com, which was about my adventures and all of the crazy stories I used to read in the NT news. A lot of friends told me I should write them into a book so, after I had my daughter and wasn’t working as much, I sat down and started expanding my blog posts into chapters and Skimpy was born!

2. What is your writing process like? Do you try to write a set amount of words each day?
I tried not to put too much pressure on myself, though I would be happy with 1000-2000 words a day. At first I would just get all the info onto the page and then go back a few days later with a fresh set of eyes and start editing and ‘shaping’ the story. I usually work on a chapter at a time whilst going back and editing previous chapters (a good way to deal with writers block I found!)

3. What are your three favourite books?
I can’t answer this!!! I have about 3000 favourite books. Anything by Cecilia Ahern – her books are like fairy tales for grown ups and such a great escape from reality. Marion Keyes is also a favourite, I haven’t read anything of hers that I haven’t absolutely loved. I also just recently read The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins and I must say it’s been a long time since a book had me up past midnight – I couldn’t put it down.

4. Any advice for aspiring authors?
Don’t take criticism to heart – I paid an independent editor to critique my first draft and I was upset at first when I got the feedback. After a teary phone call to my Mum, who pointed out that that’s what I’d asked (and needed) her to do, I went back and made some changes. I’m so glad that I did because if I had of given up on that first round of editing Skimpy would never have been published.

5. What has been the hardest part of the publishing process?
Waiting for it to be published!!! Haha I did have a love/hate relationship with the endless revisions but it was awesome to watch the book grow into something people will hopefully enjoy reading.

6. What makes you happy?
My daughter’s contagious giggle, my family and friends, road trips and catching up with all the amazing people I have met along the way.

7. What are you working on right now writing wise?
I’m in the very very early stages of planning my next book which will be a fictional story based on my experiences in the Adult Entertainment industry. And hopefully just as funny as Skimpy!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author Interview: Kellie Arrowsmith

  1. I enjoyed your interview with the author. Please give us more of these. car

    Like

  2. Di Murray says:

    Great interview with a very genuine and funny author

    Like

Leave a Reply

