Blog Tour: Crystal Kingdom by Amanda Hocking

Today is my stop on the Crystal Kingdom blog tour. A big thank you to Pan Macmillan for allowing me to take part, and to Amanda for answering all my questions.

Title: Crystal Kingdom, Book 3 in the Kanin Chronicles
Author: Amanda Hocking
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Links: GoodReads | Book Depository

Interview:

1. Where did your ideas for the Kanin Chronicles come from?
The mythos is based on Scandinavian folklore about trolls as beautiful, cunning, and ill-tempered. I also took inspiration from a trip I took Canada and Alaska, and the beauty and magic of the landscape, and I drew on the works of Alexandre Dumas, particularly The Three Musketeers.

2. When you aren’t writing, what do you like to get up to?
Reading, watching movies, playing video games, spending time with my husband, my dog, and three cats. I’m a homebody, and my life is very low-key.

3. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
Write a lot, but read more than you write. When you finish something, start something new. Keep writing, even on days when you don’t feel like writing.

4. Which writers inspire you?
I think any good book inspires me, but my first favourite authors were Stephen King, Judy Blume, and Anne Rice, so I think they have the most indelible imprint on me.

5. What are some of your favourite novels?
My all-time favourite book is Slaughterhouse-five by Kurt Vonnegut, but my top favourites change all the time. My most recent favourites are Cracked Up To Be by Courtney Summers, Devoted by Jennifer Mathieu, and A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray.

6. What makes you happy?
My family and pets make me happy. A good nap. Reading a great book. Writing. I’m a fairly simple person, I guess.

7. When and why did you first begin writing?
I first began writing as soon as I learned how to. Before I could write, when I was very young like two or three, I would tell stories and make my mom or grandma write them down for me. It was something that I just always wanted to do.

8. Do you have a specific writing style?
I’m sure I do, but I don’t really know what it is. I just try to write in a way that is the easiest for people to understand. I don’t really think about it as I’m writing.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Tour: Crystal Kingdom by Amanda Hocking

  1. I enjoy reading your interviews.
    Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

