Would You Rather Tag: Book Edition

I saw this on The Book Gram and knew I had to partake!

Would you rather read trilogies or stand-alones?

*sighs* Trilogies are literally the bane of my existence. It’s so annoying when you read the first book, love it, but then have to wait a year for the next installment. Then by the time the second comes out, you can’t remember the first, so you have to re-read the first… and when you have a massive TBR pile like I do, re-reading books isn’t exactly easy… Because of that I’ve developed a bit of a rule – I read the first, then if I love it, I wait for the whole series to come out, then I devour them all at once ๐Ÿ™‚ So yes… I prefer stand-alones!

Would you rather read only male or female authors?

I read a lot of young adult fiction with female protagonists, so because of that, I prefer female authors. I like a lot of romance in my novels, and giggly-hand-flappy moments, so I think female authors portray those heated emotions better.

Would you rather shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?

I’m an Aussie, so I prefer Book Depository or Fishpond.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

I’d prefer TV shows… because then you can follow the show season after season after season. Like Vampire Diaries. I never read the books, but the TV show is pretty addictive.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Hard question… I’d love to say 5 books a week but Iย justย don’t have the time. I work full-time, go to the gym, have a pretty crazy social life and see my boyfriend a lot – I feel like having a good balance in life is important, so I’m going to go with 5 pages.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Another hard question. It’s no real secret that I’d LOVE to be a published author. But sometimes I think that reading is my true passion. I’d love to see where this book reviewing thing takes me. Reading is something I’ve always loved so much.

Would you rather be a librarian or a book seller?

Definitely a book seller. Being a librarian would drive me mental, I think. Our local library is always filled with screaming kids ๐Ÿ™‚ It would be cool to own a little book store in some hole in the wall somewhere.

Would you rather read only your favourite genre or every genre but your favourite?

I love contemporary romances, and lately I haven’t been reading out of that genre very much. So I think I’ll stick with a good ol romance.

Would you rather read only e-books or physical books?

Physical books definitely! I do love my e-reader and it’s very handy when I travel, but I love being surrounded by books. I want to keep growing my personal library ๐Ÿ™‚

 

How about you? Feel free to answer some or all of the questions above in the comments!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Would You Rather Tag: Book Edition

  1. jguenther5 says:

    Would you rather read trilogies or stand-alones?
    Stand alone.
    Would you rather read only male or female authors?
    Doesn’t matter.
    Would you rather shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?
    Barnes & Noble store.
    Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?
    The bigger question is should a particular book be adapted at all. Usually not.
    Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?
    No brainer, 5 books a week is preferred, if unrealistic.
    Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?
    Author. Duh.
    Would you rather be a librarian or a book seller?
    Librarian. Book sellers get lonely.
    Would you rather read only your favourite genre or every genre but your favourite?
    Duh.
    Would you rather read only e-books or physical books?
    I prefer an actual book, unless I’m going to analyze it and need a search feature. .

    Like

  2. Erica Judd says:

    Fishpond is the BEST. Maybe tied with Abebooks because I’m often looking for older books or odd subjects! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Crystal says:

    Great questions! I’m with you regarding preferring physical books over ebooks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Scarlett Morrison says:

    I really agree with your comment about female authors, especially in the YA genre. There’s something about the fact that every female author was a young girl once who felt like running up the wall the first time she held someone’s hand. Hopefully I can find a way to reciprocate that too!

    Like

  5. I couldn’t agree with you more on your dislike of trilogies! I can’t stand it when an author decides to do a series, and I’ve frequently avoided what we’re probably very good books because I realized it was a part of a series.๐Ÿ˜

    presentsofthepast.wordpress.com

    Like

  6. Anthony says:

    Would you rather read trilogies or stand-alones?
    I would rather read stand alone books, or longer book series. If someone sets out to write a trilogy, they’ve either sold their characters too short, or stretched them too thin–except in the cases where it just works out that way.
    Would you rather read only male or female authors?
    I would have said that it doesn’t really matter, but I checked back on my stats and realized that I read a larger proportion of male authors (much larger). Thankfully, it gave me something to blog about.
    Would you rather shop at Barnes & Noble or Amazon?
    As a Canadian, I do not have access to Barnes and Noble. We have Chapters and Indigo (same company with two different names). Amazon has slightly better prices, but it is nice to go to the stores and browse through the sales bins. Mostly though, I just go to the library.
    Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?
    Generally, I rather just read the book, rather than see it made into anything. However, a movie is usually preferable to a series because series seems to only take an idea and stretch it into a longer, often more convoluted kind of thing (see Flash Forward). That being said, with greater investment from Netflix and others, maybe some 10 or 12 episode mini series could be the answer–especially if they stop caring about how long one episode has to be. If there are no commercials, and no constraints, who cares if it is 53, or 64 minutes long. Each episode could be whatever length it takes to tell the story.
    Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?
    Some books take longer than others. If I could read five great sentences, I would be happy. If I could write five great sentences I would be even happier.
    Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?
    I would rather write.
    Would you rather be a librarian or a book seller?
    This is a tough one as I have met interesting and attractive women in both places. Probably librarian because I love the fact that it is free.
    Would you rather read only your favourite genre or every genre but your favourite?
    My favourite genres change often (the Aquarian in me) so I do not know how to answer that. Maybe I should just say that there area great books in every genre.
    Would you rather read only e-books or physical books?
    I thought I wouldn’t like e-books, but the truth is that I do. They’re light, and when you are about to finish a book, you don’t have to worry if you should carry the next one or not because you already have it with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

