Book Review: Under the Flame Tree by Karen Wood

Title: Under the Flame Tree
Author: Karen Wood
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Cowboys
Links: GoodReads | Book Depository

Blurb:

When Kirra leaves school to begin her first job on the station where she grew up, she is unimpressed to find herself partnered with a new employee who will barely speak to her. Daniel is undeniably cute, but he has a serious attitude problem and a mysterious past – there are whispers that he’s fresh out of juvenile detention, but no one will tell her why.

Daniel gradually thaws and reveals his secrets and Kirra starts to see beyond the moodiness to a boy she can believe in. But others remain wary of him, and her best friend warns her to stay clear. Kirra has some decisions to make. Is Daniel worth fighting for? Or should she walk away?

Why I picked it up:

This book was sent to me from Allen & Unwin in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:

I’ve never really read a “cowboy” romance before, but I went into this one intrigued because the blurb sounded like something straight out of trashy fanfiction!

Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations. I didn’t love the writing… I found the breaks between dialogue to be a little abrupt.

For example: “What, for good?” Judy put the pie on the counter.

I’ve never been a fan of “to do list” type breaks. It has also been a while since I’ve read third person, alternating point of views. I found myself strangely detached from the style.

Outside of the writing, I also didn’t like Kirra. Her instant obsession with Daniel felt a bit over the top. I would have liked to know a little more about her as a character before her every thought was consumed with the mystery of Daniel. Alongside that she was stubborn and dramatic. I just didn’t get why she was so caught up and angry about Daniel. I mean, wow, calm down.

Despite all that, I got 50 pages in and was still relatively intrigued to see where the story was going, so I kept reading. But at the end of the day, wow, Kirra was just so irritating! I don’t get what Daniel saw in her or what she saw in him. I wasn’t rooting for their relationship in the slightest. She was so over the top about everything, carrying on like she had some sort of crazy claim over him. This story wasn’t for me.

My Verdict – 2 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Under the Flame Tree by Karen Wood

  1. I know it is more difficult to review a book that disaoints . Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

