The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

I’m a fan of Q&A sessions lately. I feel like it gives my blog a personal touch 🙂 So here are some more insights into me and the world of book blogging!

1. How long have you been a blogger?
I started this blog back in September 2013 – Words Read & Written is coming up to its second anniversary! I started the blog initially as a way to develop my platform as an aspiring author, but in July 2014 it evolved into a book blog.

2. At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?
I think this blog will always exist in one form or another. Blogging and sharing my thoughts on what I’m reading is something that I really enjoy. Perhaps I’ll blog less when things get busy, but for now, I can’t see Words Read & Written being shut down anytime soon. I’d like to keep it going to see where it will lead me.

3. What is the best thing about blogging?
I really love sharing my passion. Even if no one read my blog, it’s still an accurate record of my reading habits and what I get up to in the reading and writing worlds. I love that blogging gives me something to work towards – it’s fulfilling to see a blog and audience grow.

4. What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?
From what I’ve gathered about the book blogging world, the worst thing is that bloggers tend to get burnt out. They read too much, spend too much time trying to grow their numbers on social media, request too many ARCs, and eventually blogging isn’t fun anymore. I haven’t experienced that yet and I think the reason is because I’m doing my own thing. I’m not in this for the popularity contest or to be the most well-known book blogger. I just want to read and share my reading opinions.

5. How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?
Not very long. I mainly use stock cover images or my own photos that I’ve taken and edited quickly with filters. I try to keep blogging as simple as possible.

6. Who is your book crush?
Probably Draco Malfoy *grins* I used to read A LOT of fanfiction back in 2004/05.

7. What author would you like to have on your blog?
I’ve been lucky enough to feature some amazing authors. Authors like Sarah J Maas and CJ Duggan. In the future I’d love to feature Sarah Dessen or Simone Elkeles – those are authors I’ve been reading forever and have a lot of respect for.

8. What do you wear when you write your blog posts?
I feel like this is supposed to be a really thoughtful question, but I’m generally wearing whatever I happen to be wearing when I go, “Oh, I better update my blog!” Right now, I’m in my work uniform 🙂

9. How long does it take you to prepare?
To write a blog post? I don’t prepare. I just get straight into it. I churn out blog posts in 5-10 minutes. Sometimes I troll the Internet to get some ideas, but most of the time I’ll write whatever comes to mind, or whatever I’ve planned to write previously.

10. How do you feel about the book blogger community?
I feel like a lot of bloggers are trying to be “better” than other bloggers. I think there is a fair bit of competition to get the best ARCs or take part in the best blog tours etc. I really appreciate everyone’s passion. It’s nice to know there are other crazy readers out there!

11. What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?
I would recommend being extremely active in the blogging world. Be active on social media, comment on other blogs and just get out there and make friends. I’d say 90% of my blogging audience is people whose blogs I have commented on or liked.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

  1. Erica Judd says:

    I’m loving these little insight/personal posts! 🙂 I’m planning a comeback on my blog in the next couple of months and you’re becoming one of my biggest inspirations to stick to my guns and get back to it. Thank you!

    Like

  2. debb lavoie says:

    Great post! I am struggling with the idea of quitting, seems a lucky day when one comment is made or even a like. I need to adopt your mindset. ❤

    Like

  3. I needed a couple of these responses. I’m just starting out (I’ve blogged years ago on a different subject, but this is my first time as a book blogger), and its helpful to hear from someone who’s been around a little longer.
    Also, Draco Malfoy is a fantastic book crush. I’m still in the clutches of the fandom. *hides face*

    Like

  4. Olivia Roach says:

    I hope your blog will continue to be here for quite a while longer! I do like it :3 I love that we can all share our passions together and enjoy reading. I know how you feel about the undertone of competition as well, and it might be because we all throw everything we have into our blogs. I wish it wasn’t existent though, because that is not what blogging is supposed to be about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

