Book Review: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

Title: Where the Stars Still Shine
Author: Trish Doller
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Issue
Links: GoodReads | Book Depository

Blurb:

Stolen as a child from her large and loving family, and on the run with her mom for more than ten years, Callie has only the barest idea of what normal life might be like. She’s never had a home, never gone to school, and has gotten most of her meals from laundromat vending machines. Her dreams are haunted by memories she’d like to forget completely. But when Callie’s mom is finally arrested for kidnapping her, and Callie’s real dad whisks her back to what would have been her life, in a small town in Florida, Callie must find a way to leave the past behind. She must learn to be part of a family. And she must believe that love–even with someone who seems an improbable choice–is more than just a possibility.

Why I picked it up:

This book was sent to me from Bloomsbury in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:

I read this book shortly after reading Emmy & Oliver which had a similar kidnapping premise. So I was interested to see how this one compared considering Emmy & Oliver was a four star rating for me.

Turns out Where The Stars Still Shine was a completely different novel. It was much darker and dealt with more uncomfortable themes like molestation. As a character, Callie is horrifically damaged. She has a very sad relationship with men, which is totally understandable considering what she’s been through. I found it sad that she didn’t expect anything at all from them before sleeping with them.

“Seriously?” She stops the swing with both feet. “Wow. No wonder he freaked. I mean, I’m a little surprised he didn’t rally in the face of”- Kat gestures toward my chest- “those, but I think he wanted to ask you out on a date first, not go straight to hooking up.”

It had never occurred to me. Not once. “Oh.”

Overall, I thought this was a nice read. The story flowed well, the characters were interesting, and I really enjoyed the Greek family setting. It felt unique.

I set out to compare this to Emmy & Oliver, and while they were completely different novels, I enjoyed both equally. Trish Dollar really portrayed Callie’s complex emotions well.

My Verdict- 4 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

  1. Alise says:

    I’m not afraid of books that deal with tough topics so this one is intriguing, especially with the family dynamics.

    Like

  2. Olivia Roach says:

    Oh wow, this book does seem a lot darker than the other. I think it might even turn out to be hard to read because fo the themes of molestation in it, and I would have had to prepare myself before opening it. But it seems like I now know two books that deal with the kidnapping theme well!

    My recent review: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2015/09/we-all-looked-up-review.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

