Book Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith

Title: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between
 Author: Jennifer E Smith
 Publisher: Hachette
 Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
 Links: GoodReads | Book Depository

"

 Blurb:

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up.  Over the course of twelve hours, they’ll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what  their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising  revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or  goodbye forever?

Why I picked it up:

This book was sent to me from Hachette in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:

This isn’t the first Jennifer E. Smith novel I’ve read. I read The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight back in April 2014, which was a 3 star rating for me. Despite that average rating, I decided to give another one of Jennifer’s books a go, because seriously, her novels have the most gorgeous black and neon covers!

So how did this novel measure up?

I found the writing a little repetitive. There was a fair chunk of exposition between the dialogue and most of it didn’t add anything new to the story.

I also found it hard to connect to the main relationship because it was already established. Clare and Aiden had been together for 2 years, so the reader didn’t get to experience the excitement of two characters falling in love.

I do like the way Jennifer describes her characters though. She says so much without saying anything at all.

That’s just Aiden: a natural talker, an unconscious prattler, a cheerful banterer. Though she teases him for it, it’s always been comforting, like being armed with a parachute for any kind of potentially uncomfortable social situation. There’s simply not room for long pauses when he’s around, and Clare – who falls on the quieter end of the spectrum – has always been grateful for that.

At the end of the day… I felt too old for this book, and that happens sometimes when I read YA. This novel was about letting go of high school friends to move on to college, and I’ve already done that. This novel agonised over that decision to move on and I found myself rolling my eyes a few times because I simply couldn’t relate. I was so excited to go to university and to move on to that next big adventure!

My Verdict – 2 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith

  1. I feel ya about sometimes feeling too old for YA. I LOVE reading YA, but every now and then I pick out a book that’s a bit too juvenile lol

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Your comments echo my own thoughts regarding why I didn’t like this book too much. Already established couple, repetitive dialogue, and I felt way too old for this book. The characters weren’t too young for me, just the storyline was juvenile. I wanted to enjoy it, but in the end I almost wished I would have skipped it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

