Book Discussion: How do you like your romance?

This post on love-triangles at Ramblings on Readings made me wonder about my own personal preferences when it comes to a love story. How do you like them to play out? Do you like relationships that are already established? A love/hate romance? A love triangle? Maybe a slow burning romance?

I personally LOVE a romance that builds incredibly slowly. I like when the potential for the relationship is barely even there and that everything keeps the two characters apart. To me, as soon as a couple gets together, what comes after that is pretty boring in comparison. I love a love/hate romance and a forbidden romance. I love romances that make me arm-flap with excitement and squeal with the overload of cuteness. The longer it takes for two characters to kiss, the better in my opinion! I love the slow, intense build. I also love a romance where the girl takes a long time to see the guy as a love interest at all, so as a reader, we can fall in love with the guy as well.

Ah, I’m smiling just thinking about it!

How do you like your romance?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Discussion: How do you like your romance?

  1. Heather says:

    Slow-burning like Jane Eyre!

    Like

  2. Joseph Nebus says:

    Well, my own real-life love was a long-burning thing — we’d known one another for a decade and a half before anything started — and then it suddenly happened. That doesn’t seem to quite happen in stories, possibly because it’s hard to make a story take the necessary many years of setup.

    Like

  3. Jen says:

    I am sucker for unrequited love. I like a painful long story of missed connections, but some closure at the end. Even if it’s only an admission of feelings, if not a full blown coming together.

    Like

  4. Jessica says:

    The slow intense build is a great one! Forbidden romance is always a great tension builder as well, especially when all the odds are stacking against a couple. Though I do prefer a little more time to see my couples actually together (I’m a hopeless romantic that way) 🙂 Thanks for the mention and for visiting my post!

    Like

  5. I like the same kind of romance as you. I also really love when the couple doesn’t like each other at first and grow to love each other. Love triangles are fun too, but I have a history of always choosing the wrong guy to root for and the lead always ends up with the guy I DIDN’T want her to! Lol. But I’d say, overall, slow burn is the best 🙂

    Like

  6. Widdershins says:

    I don’t really mind how the peeps get there, I just want it to be well written. I’ve read some absolute drek recently and it’s my winge of the day! 🙂

    Like

  7. athling2001 says:

    Wow, which fictional character would I marry?” Oh, so many choices!!!!

    Like

  8. Tessa says:

    I love lady and the tramp. Cute. I fall in love with my characters when I am reading too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

