Recommend me… a music related book

Welcome to a new little facet of my blog. Every now and then I’m going to post a “Recommend me…” blog post. It will be a way for all of us to share our favourite novels with each other and also to find some new reading material.

The series to far:
“Recommend Me”… a book that made you laugh
“Recommend Me”… a fantasy novel.
“Recommend Me”… a science fiction novel.
“Recommend Me”… a romance novel

This time, recommend me…

A music biography or autobiography or memoir.

I’ve received a couple of amazing ones in my mailbox lately.

What are some of your favourites?

A big recommendation from me is Scar Tissue. It is such an amazing memoir from the Red Hot Chilli Peppers front man.

 

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recommend me… a music related book

  1. 80smetalman says:

    As for music related books, it would have to be my first novel, “Rock and Roll Children.” It dispels the myth that 80s music was all Boy George and Wham

    Like

  2. Abbie Taylor says:

    I recently read It’s a Long Story by Willie Nelson and Simple Dreams by Linda Ronstadt. You can learn more about these and other books I’ve read on my blog at https://abbiescorner.wordpress.com/2015/07/28/books-i-read-this-month/ .

    Like

  3. Jon C says:

    Oof, where should I start? Here’s some of my favorites:
    –Mark Lewisohn, ‘The Beatles Recording Sessions’. Well, really, any of Lewisohn’s Beatles books are totally worth the read, including the new bio (Tune In). He’s one of the lucky few who got to listen to all the master tapes (including outtakes) and probably knows the band’s history better than the band itself!
    –Bob Stanley, ‘Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! The Story of Pop Music from Bill Haley to Beyonce’. An excellent overview of what pop music consists of, but also why the music was popular at that particular time.
    –Richard Neer, ‘FM: The Rise and Fall of Rock Radio’. My favorite book about the history of the FM band and how it morphed from an experimental playground for radio engineers to freeform programming in the 60s and when it finally reached popularity in the late 70s.
    –Simon Reynolds, ‘Rip It Up and Start Again: Post-Punk 1978-1984’. An excellent book about the origins and evolution of what we now call alt.rock. It focuses mostly on the UK movement, but it explains so much about what became college rock in the US in the late 80s.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Recommend me… Your favourite recent read |

Leave a Reply

