Author Interview: Nicole Trilivas

Today I’m interviewing Nicole Trilivas. A big thanks to Penguin Random House for setting up the interview!

Title: Girls Who Travel
Author: Nicole Trilivas
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Genre: Adult, Chick-Lit

Blurb:

There are many reasons women shouldn’t travel alone. But as foul-mouthed, sweet-toothed Kika Shores knows, there are many more reasons why they should. After all, most women want a lot more out of life than just having fun. Kika, for one, wants to experience the world.

But ever since she returned from her yearlong backpacking tour, she’s been steeped in misery, battling rush hour with all the other suits. Getting back on the road is all she wants. So when she’s offered a nanny job in London – the land of Cadbury Cream Eggs – she’s happy at the prospect of going back overseas and getting paid for it. But as she’s about to discover, the most exhilarating adventures can happen when you stay in one place…

The Interview:

1. Tell us a little bit about GIRLS WHO TRAVEL…

Girls Who Travel is a romantic comedy of errors and wanderlust. Free-spirited American backpacker, Kika Shores is one of those itchy-footed girls who are constantly asked “Where are you going next?” and “When are you going to settle down?” But while reconnecting with Lochlon, the object of her last holiday “roadmance,” Kika just may end up in a place she never expected.

2. How long have you been writing?

I had some awesome English teachers who encouraged me to write from a young age. But I only really started trying to write as a career in last 7 years or so. I wish I started sooner! I love writing and I would love nothing more than to do it for the rest of my life—and not only because it’s a job you can do in your pajamas!

3. What inspires you?

First of all: travel! I knew that if I had any chance of finishing writing a novel, I would have to pick a theme I was passionate about. It’s easy to be inspired in this beautiful world. Besides travel, I am inspired by language: a pretty word or turn of phrase—whether it’s from dialog on TV or overhead in conversation—will have me rushing to a notebook.

4. What did you find most useful in learning to write a novel?

There’s some advice that really stuck with me while writing this novel: Tell the story the way you would tell it to a good friend; end the chapter in a way that would make you want to read the next chapter; and don’t underestimate your readers by over-explaining or dumbing-down.

5. What makes your book stand our from the crowd?

I think a serial backpacker for a main character is unique. The marketplace is full of travelogues and travel memoirs, but as a traveler myself, I always found it hard to find fun fiction books with travel as the overarching subject.

6. How do you find or make time to write?

There will always be time to write if you make it a priority. That may mean giving up a TV show, sleep, or saying no to activities, but if you truly want to write, you will find time. That said, I’ve been doing a horrible job of prioritizing my writing lately—yikes, I know, but my goal for 2016 is to get back into the swing of things!

7. What do you like to read in your free time?

Everything! The last few books I read were all different genres. As long as it’s a good story and/or well written, I’m in.

8. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Keep going. I wrote four whole books in four different genres before getting Girls Who Travel published. It’s not supposed to be easy, but it is supposed to be fun!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview: Nicole Trilivas

  1. Charlie Britten says:

    Interesting advice about writing a novel as if you were telling a story to a friend. Thanks, Nicole and Jodie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

