Reading Discussion: Are you a book cover snob?

This year on Words Read & Written I’m adhering to the following posting schedule:

Monday – Book Review

Tuesday – Author Interview

Friday – Miscellaneous Post

I didn’t update last Friday because I was on the Gold Coast, so I’m making up for it this Friday with a discussion post featured on Talkin’ ’bout Books – Are you a book cover snob?

It’s an interesting question, because on the one hand I’m like this:

But on the other hand, I’m also like:

I think it comes down to how much prior knowledge I have a about a book. If I see a book in the store and I’ve heard amazing things about it, I’ll pick it up regardless of what the cover looks like. But if I see a book I’ve never heard of and the cover/blurb doesn’t grab me, then I’ll definitely set it aside. So I suppose it depends. I’ve read some amazing books with average covers, and I’ve read some awful books with amazing covers… So at the end of the day, I judge books based on book reviews more often than on their cover alone.

Do you judge a book by its cover?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reading Discussion: Are you a book cover snob?

  1. I do judge a book by its cover but like you, if I know about the book beforehand, it doesn’t matter what the cover looks like. If I want it, I buy it. I know great covers don’t translate into good stories, but many times it is our first impression. Covers should convey what’s inside. If I see mobs of zombies or half-naked women, the book is not for me, so I dismiss it. If I see a fantasy castle with a sorceress, I’m taking a second look.

    Like

  2. I am definitely guilty of reading a book by its cover…but not always. I read the synopsis in the jacket for sure….BUT mainly read the first couple of pages in the first chapter to get a sense of the writing style as well…if both the synopsis and style agree in my brain then I might just buy asap. I also go by trusted friends recommendations of said book as well…I don’t always go off reviews if I trust the person who reviewed and have good track record with reading a good book they recommended……:) ….So no snob …just want to save money and time (especially time ) and I want I a GOOD experience when I read .. 🙂

    Like

    • I meant to say I am guilty of NOT reading a book by its cover….. and I also meant to say I only read a book based on review by a trusted tested reviewer……to early in the morning I need my coffee… 🙂

      Like

  3. CGCoppola says:

    …I’m kind of a book cover snob. But if it doesn’t grab me in the first few pages, it doesn’t matter what the cover looks like. I guess we all like pretty things to look at.

    Like

  4. Widdershins says:

    I haven’t ‘just browsed’ a bookstore since the advent of the ebook age, but when I did I used a combination of front cover imagery and back cover blurb.
    My book choices these days are almost exclusively from authors I already know, review sites I know and respect and anything Mrs Widds throws my way. Helps enormously when your spouse knows your tastes. 🙂
    Book covers are important but not so much these days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

