Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

Title: You
Author: Caroline Kepnes
Publisher: Simon Schuster
Genre: Adult, Thriller, Contemporary, Suspense
Links: GoodReads

Blurb:

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

Why I picked it up:

The lovely people at Simon Schuster were nice enough to send this one to me after I kept spotting it online.

My Thoughts:

I was super excited to start “You” because I knew it would be unlike anything I’d read in a while – so I was excited to sink my teeth into it.

What I liked most about this book, was the insight into Joe’s mental state. It was amazing what went on in his head. It makes me very grateful that I don’t have a stalker hanging around!

I have to admit though, I expected this to be a lot creepier and more disturbing than it was. I found it strangely predictable… Was it interesting? Absolutely. Did it make me happy that I’m in a relationship with a regular guy? Yes. But I was expecting more from this book.

My Verdict – 3 stars 

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

  1. Good to hear that it was a view into his mental state

    Like

Leave a Reply

