Blog Tour: #ATangleofGold by Jaclyn Moriarty

Title: A Tangle of Gold, book 3 in The Colours of Madeleine
Author: Jaclyn Moriarty
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure
Links: GoodReads

1. Tell us a little about A TANGLE OF GOLD?

It’s the final book in a trilogy about a girl named Madeleine who lives in Cambridge, England, and who starts writing letters to a boy named Elliot who lives in the Kingdom of Cello. In the first book in the trilogy, Madeleine thinks it’s all just fantasy; in the second book, she has begun to believe in Cello and wants to figure out how to get there; and in A Tangle of Gold, she succeeds.

2. Do you have a specific writing style?

A lot of my books are written in letters and notes, and letters play an important role in this trilogy. I like the narrative unreliability inherent in letters.

3. Is there a message in A TANGLE OF GOLD that you want readers to grasp?

I like secret messages in bottles or parking meters, and I hope readers will find messages in A Tangle of Gold that feel as if they’re directed just to them.

4. Who is your favourite author and what really strikes you about their work?

Very tricky to choose just one favourite author, I have many. But I love Kate Atkinson because there is so much spark, humour, intelligence and intricate plotting in her books. They seem like generous book. Also, of course, my favourite authors are my sisters, Liane and Nicola Moriarty.

5. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Read lots of books, read far and wide and in every direction. Write in lots of different styles, write a journal in which you make at least one unexpected observation every day. (Or every few days: don’t worry if you’re feeling flat or uninspired sometimes.)

6. What does your writing process look like?

Like a sunset over the ocean. Ha ha. No, there are a lot of scribbled, messy notes, coloured textas, and big notebooks in the mornings. In the afternoons I write at my computer and my writing process looks like somebody spinning around in chair, staring out the window, getting up to go and get more tea, chocolate and fruit from the kitchen, coming back, spinning and staring again.

7. Do you have any strange writing habits?

I like to draw pictures, and make big colourful bubble headings in each page of my notes. I like to write with a cobalt blue bowl full of fruit and chocolate beside me. Sometimes I tip iced water over my head.

8. Any book recommendations for readers?

Cloudwish by Fiona Wood; Clariel by Garth Nix; The Knife of Never Letting Go by Laurie Halse Anderson; Double Shadow by Sally Gardner; everything by Diana Wynne Jones.

A Tangle of Gold_Blog_Tour_Dates_160404

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

