Book Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Title: Landline
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance
Links: GoodReads
Related Reviews: Carry On (2 stars) | Eleanor & Park (3 stars) | Fangirl (4 stars)

Blurb:

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Why I picked it up:

This was a GoodReads choice awards winner in 2015.

My Thoughts:

I didn’t have a clue what to expect going into Landline. I picked it up and started reading without even looking at the blurb.

But I loved this. I liked the characters, and the dynamics between them – every single character was memorable in their own way.

I liked the mystery too, because I didn’t read the blurb, so I had so many “wait, what?” moments, and I loved that.

At its heart, this story is about falling back in love with your partner. It was a great story. I read this pretty much in one big stint. I loved the theme of appreciating your loved ones and not taking them for granted because you never know when things might change.

My Verdict – 4 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Holly Kerr says:

    I love Rainbow Rowell. Just love her.

    Like

  2. Great Review I really loved Landline not as much as I love Attachments that book will always have a special place in my heart. But I really did love and enjoy Landline especially when I was reading it during the holidays. Thank you for the great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

