Blog Tour: She Laughs in Pink by Jessica Calla

Title: She Laughs in Pink
Author: Jessica Calla
Publisher: BookFish Books
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Links: GoodReads

interview

1. Tell us a little about SHE LAUGHS IN PINK…
She Laughs in Pink is New Adult romance told from the alternating viewpoints of Chase and Juliet, two college freshman with tragic pasts who end up rooming on the same floor. Although they quickly become friends (and then a bit more), Juliet has her heart set on someone else. When Chase and Juliet finally decide to be together, tragedy strikes at the dorm and their worlds fall apart. Neither knows if they have the strength to find their way back to each other.

2. What do you think is the most important part in creating characters?
When I create characters, I try to make them relatable so people care about them. Maybe they even see a bit of themselves in the characters. I think the best way to develop a character is through dialogue. I love writing dialogue and think it can make or break a novel. A lot of times, a character may feel clunky because the characters’ words are clunky.

3. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
FINISH YOUR DRAFT! I talk to so many writers who can’t get through that first draft because they’re trying to write the perfect book on the first try. Get the words down and then fix them later! There’s a quote that writing is like dumping the sand into the box, and editing is like making the castle. Totally true!

4. What books/authors have influenced your writing?
I started writing YA after reading Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer, but wanted to hop over to NA after reading Easy, by Tammara Webber. I adored that book! I remember thinking, “What IS this?” I knew it wasn’t the YA I was used to, but it didn’t read like a typical contemporary romance.

Books that have inspired me to keep going, keep writing, and keep trying are Stephen King’s On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft and Julia Cameron’s The Right to Write. Whenever I’m feeling lost, writing-wise, I reach for one of these books. I think every writer should have both of these books on his or her desk!

5. Do you ever experience writers block?
Sure! I’ve experienced writer’s block on certain projects, usually around the 30,000 word mark. But in response, I put that project aside and pick up something else for a little while. I’m a firm believer that people should have more than one WIP going at a time. Sometimes you have to take a step back and let things fester for a while before you get back to the words.

6. What is your favourite theme to write about?
Love! I also enjoy writing about female friendships, because the bond we share with our girlfriends can be just as strong, or even stronger, than the one we share with the men or partners in our lives.

7. What do you like to do when you aren’t writing?
I enjoy yoga. I appreciate the practice’s focus on breath, and settling the mind while exercising the body. I also love going to the movies.

8. Do you have any book recommendations for the readers of Words Read & Written?
Yes!

In adult romance, I love Nora Roberts’ Bride Quartet series. I’ve read all four books numerous times (Vision in White is Book 1). Although romance, the Bride Quartet is essentially a series about female friendship. I also loved Vi Keeland’s MMA Fighter Series (Worth the Fight is Book 1). Steamy, hot, and sexy!

In women’s fiction, anything by Nicholas Sparks. Sniff…I tear up just thinking about his wonderful stories. Not a huge fan of the movies based on the books, but the books shatter me every time. The ending of Dear John (the book, not the movie) kills me. My mother doesn’t understand why I keep reading these books and then crying for days afterward. “Why are you doing that to yourself?” she asks. “Because… that’s why,” I try to explain.

In YA, I loved Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins and Flat Out Loveby Jessica Park. I also highly recommend my publishing sister, A.C. Land and her book A Shot of Bourbon, releasing March 29. A.C. has one of the best voices in YA that I’ve read in a long time. I can’t wait for her book to hit the shelves.

In NA, Easy by Tammara Webber (mentioned above) and Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens…Kellan is the perfect NA book boyfriend (the entire Thoughtless Series is awesome!).

Thanks for hosting me on Words Read & Written! I appreciate the support!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Tour: She Laughs in Pink by Jessica Calla

  1. Thanks for posting about She Laughs…!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

