Book Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Title: Beautiful Disaster, book 1 in the Beautiful series
Author: Jamie McGuire
Publisher: Simon Schuster
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Links: GoodReads

Blurb:

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

My Thoughts:

I’m on a bit of a NA spree at the moment, so of course I had to reread the book that pretty much started it all.

I loved this book when I first read it back in 2011. It reminded me so much of all the fanfiction I used to read – so bad it’s amazing!

I think what I like most about this novel is the characters. They felt so real and their passions so intense – their emotions flew off the page. Also the plot moves quickly and is very intense/dramatic with plenty of ups and downs.

There is a bit of slut shaming and general nastiness towards other women, but aside from that, this is a great guilty-pleasure read.

My Verdict – 4 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. Ohh great review Jodie I’ve been dying to read this book for so long now! I don’t know what is taking me so long to check this book out because I absolutely loved Red Hill by Jamie McGuire. I know I would love this series as well. I love too read fanfiction too I still do read some fanfiction time from time but not like I used too lol 😀 Thank you for your awesome post Jodie!

    Like

  2. I liked this one too! Have you read Easy too? Another book a bit like this one.

    Like

    • *goes hunting through Goodreads* Yeah I have 🙂 I read it back in 2012. My review was “Aw, lovely. I love a nice romance and happy ending. Also appreciated the ‘issues’ dealt with in this book and the way the girls banded together for a favourable result. Lovely.”

      Haha. I can’t actually remember reading it being so long ago, but my review looks favourable. I love the new adult genre!

      Like

Leave a Reply

