Do book hangovers exist?

I read a lot…. like, A LOT. But I’ve never experienced a book hangover until recently. What is a book hangover, you ask?

“A book hangover is condition in which attachment to a book or series that has ended causes the reader traumatic emotional distress. It usually lasts for one to two weeks, or until a new book of higher-than-average quality enters the reader’s life.”

In my case, the cause of my book hangover was this amazing piece of awesomeness.

I literally can’t pick up a new book right now. Instead I find myself marathoning Game of Thrones, which is great, but man, when is this book hangover going to end!?

Have you ever experienced a book hangover?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do book hangovers exist?

  1. I felt that after reading ‘The Brothers Karamazov’ by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

    Like

  2. Interesting! I’m not sure I had a book hangover yet, but then I haven’t exactly payed attention to the symptoms. I do regularly get video game hangovers, though, now that I think about it.

    Like

  3. Grandtrines says:

    Reblogged this on Still Another Writer's Blog.

    Like

  4. Yes, I’ve experienced it before. I think the first time was when I finished The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks when I was a teen. It was one of the first epic fantasies I’d ever read.
    I enjoyed Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I haven’t read A Court of Mist and Fury, but it’s on my list. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

    Like

  5. rlapblog says:

    I shared your book hangover concept with my entire writing and publishing team and an EXPLOSION of conversation occurred! Great Topic! Beware the book hangover!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Bookish Update… Bookman, Game of Thrones, Bellabox… | Words Read & Written

Leave a Reply

