Blog Tour: Words In Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Title: Words In Deep Blue
Author: Cath Crowley
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Links: GoodReads

Hi Cath,

Welcome to Words Read and Written, and thank you for taking the time to answer these questions!

Thanks for having me on the blog. ☺

Can you tell us a little bit about WORDS IN DEEP BLUE for those who haven’t had a chance to read it yet?

It’s a love story set in a second-hand bookstore. It takes place over time, between people who know each other, and between strangers. It’s about Henry Jones and Rachel Sweetie getting a second chance at love.

When you aren’t writing, what do you like to get up to?

When I’m not writing I love to read fiction. I find it hard to do that while I’m working on the voice of my novel, so if I’m between works I make sure I’m feeding myself with great novels. Other things I love to do – go to exhibitions, films, go for walks, have interesting conversations, travel.

Is there any specific advice you would give to aspiring writers?

My advice would be to read widely – read YA and books for other age groups. Feed your writing –art, the written and spoken word, films, friends, new people and places – curiosity is essential. Be aware of the market, but don’t be limited by it. The books that have stayed with me have broken boundaries of some kind. Finish it – finish the book you’re working on. When it gets hard, when it feels impossible, keep going. We need storytellers.

After winning the Prime Minister’s Literary Award for your last book Graffiti Moon, do you have any further ambitions for your writing career?

I’d like to challenge myself, write the stories that I have to write, but write them as well as I can. Read more, learn more, and learn more about the craft of writing; I’d like to work on not worrying about failing. Because if you take risks with writing, and I think you have to take risks, then you’ll probably fail sometimes.

Can you give us an insight into Rachel’s character in WORDS IN DEEP BLUE? What is about her that you feel makes her special?

I love Rachel because she’s all science. She doesn’t believe in ghosts or the supernatural or time travel. But she wants to, desperately, when her brother died. I can relate to that. I can relate to believing and disbelieving in ghosts at the same time. It happened to me when my grandmother died, and when my father died. I also love Rachel because she’s willing to change her mind about things. She’s practical and solid. And she loves Henry.

Do you write full-time or part-time, and if part-time do you do any other work in the arts/writing industry?

It changes through the year, and over the years. I wrote Words in Deep Blue almost full time. This year I’ve done some teaching and some editing work and freelance writing work. If I had my choice, I’d write full time six months of the year, and work full time six months of the year.

Where do the ideas for your books usually come from?

They come partly from the things I’m reading, the people I’ve talking to, the art I’m looking at, the preoccupations I have. And they come from somewhere I don’t really understand – the subconscious or the unconscious. That place where the things I’ve thought about connect in strange ways and appear on the page.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

