Growing out of the YA genre…

It’s funny how you “grow out” of genres. I’ve been reading less and less young adult books lately and all of a sudden, the thought of picking up another one isn’t that appealing. I much prefer reading new adult and adult books at the moment. Which isn’t to say I won’t ever read a YA book again (I am still a huge Sarah J Maas, Sarah Dessen etc fan) but I’ve enjoyed delving into more mature work lately.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Growing out of the YA genre…

  1. tj6james6 says:

    AMEN!
    I got tired of the heroine of the story not taking advice, going off and doing her own thing, getting in trouble and having to be rescued by the male lead because she didn’t listen in the first place!
    May I suggest Robert Bryznda’s Erica Foster series? It is really good, has a female lead who does have problems but she’s a problem solver, older, female detective. She goes her own way too, but there’s a difference: She does listen to her superiors, even if she does end up doing things her own way anyway.

    Like

  2. Akaluv says:

    I know what you mean. I’ve taken a break fron Young Adult and started reading more New Adult.

    Like

Leave a Reply

